FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Qualified Teams

Here is the list of all teams qualified for FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 scheduled to be played next year. The competition will be played among the champions from each confederation plus host and FIFA World Cup Winner. This is the 10th edition of Confederations Cup that will be played in Russia from 17 June to 2 July 2017. For the first time in history, Russia is hosting this competition. It will be a group format game that will proceed to semi finals and final rounds. So take a look on FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 teams.

fifa confederations cup 2017 teams

FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 Qualified Teams

  1. Russia [Hosts]
  2. Germany [FIFA World Cup 2014 Winners]
  3. Australia [AFC Asian Cup 2015 Winners]
  4. Chile [Copa America 2015 Winners]
  5. Mexico [CONCACAF 2015 Winners]
  6. New Zealand [OFC Nations Cup 2016 Winners]
  7. Portugal [UEFA Euro 2016 Winners]
  8. Cameroon [Africa Cup of Nations 2017 Winners]

Russia Qualified As Hosts

Being host nation Russia became the first national football team to qualify for FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 competition. On 2nd December 2010, it was officially announced that Russia will host the tenth edition of tournament. The nation will be playing first ever Confederations Cup and will compete against the Champions of other Confederations. In 2018, Russia will also host FIFA World Cup 2018 which means they’ve already qualified for the competition.

Germany Qualified As World Champions

On 13 July 2014, the Germans became the second and first team to qualify via tournament. Four times World Cup Champions Germany will be playing this tournament third time as they’ve already played it twice [1999, 2005]. So far, Germany have not won FIFA Confederations Cup, but that doesn’t mean it will never happen.

AFC Champions Australia Will Play 4th Time

The Champions of AFC Asian Cup are all set to give tough competitions to other Champions. Australia won their first ever AFC Championship in their home after winning against South Korea in the final game. They also grabbed other awards like Best player [Massimo Luongo], Best goalkeeper [Mathew Ryan] and Fair play award in AFC 2015. Australia have played it three times and now eyeing the first ever Confederations Cup title. Will they do it this time?

Champions Of Copa America 2015 Will Make Debut

We have seen probably the best football of Chile in last few years. After their incredible performance in FIFA World Cup 2016, Chile kept on their winning continue and won two back to back Copa America titles. On 4th July 2015, Chile won against Argentina in the final, lifted the Copa America title for the first time and automatically qualify for Confederations Cup 2017. So we can expect another great football tournament ahead.

CONCACAF 2015 Champions Will Join Them

Mexico, the winners of CONCACAF 2015 competition will be playing this tournament for the seventh time. They have made most appearances in this championship. Mexico have won it in 1999 and are now looking to grab another title. After win against United States, Mexico qualified for Confederations Cup 2017.

New Zealand Will Be Playing 4th Confederation Cup

New Zealand are known as the best national football team in OFC Confederation. During 2016 OFC Nations Cup, New Zealand won all of their games and conceded just one goal throughout the competition. The winner was decided on penalties that resulted in 4-2 win for New Zealand

First Time Euro Champions Portugal Will Also Make Debut

UEFA Euro 2016 will be remembered for twist and turns. After a stumbling start in the championship, Portugal kept on winning knock out games and finally won the first ever UEFA Euro title. This means the FIFA Confederation Cup 2017 could be featured with Cristiano Ronaldo.

15 Years Of Patience Put Cameroon Into Confederations Cup

After ending 15 year drought of AFCON, Cameroon lifted the trophy of Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon this year. They came from behind to steal a 1-2 victory over Egypt in the final and thanks to substitute Vincent Aboubakar who netted the winning goal for Cameroon. Now, the African side is all set to make third appearance with other Champions.

Leave a Reply