Groups, Points Table: FIFA Confederations Cup 2017

There will be two groups, Group A and B in FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 football competition. Each group will have four teams. Here we are presenting you groups of the upcoming championship who will compete for the Confederation title. Have you seen schedule of FIFA Confederations Cup 2017? There will be total of 16 matches among the champions of each Confederation. Check out all groups and points table with teams below in detail info.

Group A: FIFA Confederations Cup 2017

FIFA Confederation Cup 2017 Group A

The first group is featuring hosts Russia, New Zealand, Portugal and Mexico.

# Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Russia
2 New Zealand
3 Portugal
4 Mexico

Group B: FIFA Confederations Cup 2017

Teams in second group are Chile, Australia, Germany and African Champion.

# Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 African Champion
2 Chile
3 Australia
4 Germany

This edition will be without Brazil who failed to qualify for the first time since 1995. Brazil is the only nation who won three back to back Confederation Cup titles. They won it in 2005, 2009 and 2013. This time, they are replaced by Chile who are going to play it for the first time after clinching Copa America title.

See also: List of teams qualified for Confederations Cup 2017

Three teams from UEFA Confederation [Russia, Germany and Portugal] qualified for this competition. This is because Russia are the hosts, Germany are the World Cup champions and Portugal are the UEFA Confederation Winners. Three teams [Russia, Chile and Portugal] are playing for for the first time.

From each group, best two teams will play knock out round or known as semi final round. Group games will be played from 17 to 25 June 2017. There will be a third place game also between the two losing semi final teams. The final will be played on 2 July 2017.

This entry was posted in GROUPS.

Leave a Reply